News Xbox One News

Golden Joystick 2017 winners announced

You know Christmas is just around the corner when the Golden Joystick winners get announced.  This year I’m going to use them to get on my soapbox (again) I’m afraid.

2017 has been about recovery for the Xbox brand.  That in mind, there have been some stellar games, without even mentioning the seemingly extremely successful launch of the Xbox One X.  But where are the tripe A Xbox exclusives?  Playstation Game of the Year: Horizon: Zero Dawn.  Nintendo Game of the Year: Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild.  Both big triple A heavy hitters.  Xbox Game of the Year: Cuphead.  A great title, sure, with best in class animation.  But, will it really sell systems?  Not in my opinion, no.  Especially since it’s also available on PC.

So Phil, what have you for all of your loyal Xbox gamers in 2018?  Can we look forward to a great holiday/ Christmas season next year?

Here is the full list of winners:

  • Best Storytelling – Horizon Zero Dawn
  • Best Visual Design – Cuphead
  • Best Audio – The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • Best Gaming Performance sponsored by The Sun – Ashly Burch (Horizon Zero Dawn)
  • Best Indie Game in collaboration with Square Enix Collective – Friday the 13th: The Game
  • Best Multiplayer Game sponsored by GT Omega – PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds
  • Studio of the Year – Nintendo EPD
  • Best VR Game – Resident Evil 7: Biohazard
  • eSports Play of the Year sponsored by Intel – Agilities
  • eSports Team of the Year – Seoul Dynasty (formerly Lunatic-Hai)
  • eSports Game of the Year sponsored by OMEN by HP – Overwatch
  • Best Streamer / Broadcaster – Markiplier
  • Handheld / Mobile Game of the Year sponsored by Bespoke Arcades – Pokémon Sun and Moon
  • Nintendo Game of the Year – The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • PlayStation Game of the Year – Horizon Zero Dawn
  • Xbox Game of the Year – Cuphead
  • PC Game of the Year – PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds
  • Critics’ Choice Award – The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • Breakthrough Award sponsored by Badfly – Ashly Burch
  • Hall of Fame – Final Fantasy
  • Most Wanted Award – The Last of Us Part II
  • Still Playing Award – World of Tanks
  • Outstanding Contribution to the UK Games Industry sponsored by The Telegraph – Debbie Bestwick MBE
  • Lifetime Achievement – Sid Meier
  • Ultimate Game of the Year – The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild


Spread the love


Login with Facebook